Daylight | On-site v4.0 | 2021-09-07

New features

  • Sidebar: Shared Views

  • Undo banners for Shared Views and Shared Concept Lists

  • Document Viewer and Metadata display

Enhancements

  • Data Upload: Column header names can be edited

  • Data Upload: Default data type heuristics update

  • Data Upload: Cycle through Errors and Warnings

  • Data Upload: Warning messages are dismissible

  • Sidebar: Configure Visualization selection is persistent

  • Sidebar: Don’t display blank verbatim in document tab

  • Settings: Only Org Admin users see the Org Management page

Fixes

  • Fix: Default name and color assigned to Concepts in Shared Concept List API endpoints

  • Multiple clicks on Create Project button no longer creates multiple projects

Deprecations

  • Removal: All remaining V4 endpoints removed

  • Removal: /concepts/saved/ endpoints and associated components removed

  • Removal: “vector” removed from response on /concepts/ endpoints

  • Deprecation notice: Will be unable to open Projects built on science version older than 2.0

New Features

Sidebar: Shared Views

As you explore and make discoveries, you can now save and share visualizations. This will allow you to easily save your work and get back to an interesting visualization or share key insights with your colleagues. All of the controls for the Shared View feature is located in the Current View Box on the top left corner. 

To Share a view, click on the “Share” button

Then give your View a name and click “Create”

This will save all of the settings that make up the visualization including the Feature that you are on, the Concept List being used, the Configure Visualization selection and Filter settings.

To load a Shared View, use the drop down list to select a View to load.

To make any changes or to delete a View, click “Share”, then select a View to edit/delete from the “Edit” drop down. Doing so will open the below popover.

Here, you can 

  • change the name of the View with the pencil icon. 

  • If you have made any changes since loading the View, you can “Update” the View with the current configuration

  • The itemized list shows the differences between the current state and the loaded View

  • The trash icon in the bottom right will delete the View

Undo banners for Shared Views and Shared Concept Lists

Various actions that you can take with Shared Views and Shared Concept Lists now display an undo banner, replacing the previously displayed success banners. Some actions that can now be undone are delete, update, load and rename for Shared Views and Shared Concept Lists.

Document Viewer and Metadata display

We have made it easier to explore the documents in your project with the following features.

  • In the Documents tab of the left sidebar, the metadata associated with the document is displayed at the top of each document tile.

  • Clicking on a document in the left sidebar opens the document in a modal window where longer documents can be more easily viewed. The metadata associated with the document is also displayed on the right side of the modal.

  • The metadata fields that you wish to see in the sidebar and modal can be selected and deselected so that you only see the specific fields that you wish you see. The set of fields to see in the sidebar and modal can be set independently.

Enhancements

Data Upload: Column header names can be edited

The column header names can now be edited on the data upload page in either the Data Summary panel or the Data Display panel. 

Data Upload: Default data type heuristics update

When data is uploaded without the data type being specified in the column header, a default is automatically set which the user can change from the Data Summary panel. Previously, we set the default for all columns that were not named Text or Title to the string data type. With this release, we have put in place some basic heuristics to select other default data types including number, score and date.

Data Upload: Cycle through Errors and Warnings

The Errors and Warnings icons above the Data Summary Panel can now be clicked. This will navigate you through the list of Errors and Warning, making it easier to resolve or dismiss them.

Data Upload: Warning messages are dismissible

Warning messages which are displayed on the data upload page can now be dismissed by clicking the “x”. Error messages are not dismissible and must be addressed before the data can be uploaded.

Sidebar: Configure Visualization selection is persistent

If either Active concepts or Unique to this filter is selected on the Configure Visualization tab in the sidebar, the selection will persist across a change in analysis feature. For example, if you have Active concepts selected in the Volume feature and you move to the Drivers feature, Active concepts will remain selected.

Sidebar: Don’t display blank verbatim in document tab

The document tab in the sidebar no longer displays blank boxes associated with documents that contain blank verbatim.

Settings: Only Org Admin users see the Org Management page

Previously, users were able to navigate to the Org Management page from the Settings sections, which allowed them to see the list of Users belonging to the Org. As of this release, only Org Admin users will see the link to this page in the Settings section.

Fixes

Fix: Default color assigned to Concepts in Shared Concept List API endpoints

The “create shared concept list” and “edit shared concept list” endpoints have been updated to correctly assign a default name and color to a concept if one is not supplied. Previously to this fix, the name and color were being left empty when none were supplied.

Multiple clicks on Create Project button no longer creates multiple projects

Previously, if you clicked the Create Project button multiple times in quick succession from the data upload page, multiple Projects were created with the same data. This has been corrected so that only a single click is registered and only one Project created.

Deprecations

Removal: All remaining V4 endpoints removed

With this release, all remaining V4 endpoints have been removed. 

For more details, please refer to the deprecation notice in the release notes for the 3.2 release

Removal: /concepts/saved/ endpoints and associated components removed

The /concepts/saved/ endpoints have been removed. Deprecation notice was provided for these endpoints in the release notes for version 3.1 in conjunction with the release of the Shared Concept List feature and its associated /concepts/shared/ endpoints. For more details, please refer to the deprecation notice in the release notes for the 3.1 release

As a result, the option to set the Concept Selector to {“type”: “saved”} and “saved_concept_id” as a way to define a Concept have been removed. 

You can refer to the Concept Selectors and Shared concept lists sections of the API documentation for further details.

If you are still using the /concepts/saved/ endpoints or its associated components and need assistance adapting your scripts or integrations, reach out to your Customer Success Manager or contact us at support@luminoso.com.

Removal: “vector” removed from response on /concepts/ endpoints

Previously, concepts returned by the API included a "vector" field with the single vector representing the concept.  With the release of Advanced Concept Search in version 2.3,  we had deprecated the "vector" field, and have now removed it. Instead, all concepts include a "vectors" field with an array of vectors.  In cases where a single vector was being returned, this will be a one-element array containing that vector.

Deprecation notice: Will be unable to open Projects built on science version older than 2.0

With onsite version 2.2, which was released in February of 2020, we updated our core AI technology, QuickLearn®, to version 2.0. Subsequent to that release, all project builds, whether new projects or rebuilds of existing projects, would have been performed using version 2.x of QuickLearn. However, any projects that were previously built with version 1.x of QuickLearn (onsite 2.0 and older) can still be opened and used without a rebuild.

With this deprecation notice, we are announcing that the support for opening and using projects which were built using QuickLearn 1.x will be removed in onsite version 4.1, targeted for release in March 2022.  Starting with onsite version 4.1, if a user tries to open a project which was built with QuickLearn 1.x, the user will be notified via a modal that the science is outdated and the project must be rebuilt before it can be opened. A button will be present within the modal to initiate the rebuild of the project.

For more information on QuickLearn 2, please refer to this section of the release notes for onsite version 2.2.